Unlucky Black Cats?!

Hi my name is Laura and I’m addicted to…CATS! 

In a very short space of time I have become ever so slightly obsessed with cats. I always liked them but once I was able to have them of my own I have stepped up to trainee Crazy Cat Lady status. I have two cats Claude and Pipestrelle (Pip for short). For those of you who have read my blog post Oscar you will understand my reticence in having any further kittens, but when my friend Emma text me to say she had a lovely silver boy I couldn’t resist a little peek.

These are the photos I received

 

**cue gooey eyes and lovehearts**

 

Well clearly he was just beautiful and  couldn’t wait to meet him. I spoke to Martyn and the children and together we decided we would ‘consider’ opening our home, and our hearts **gulp**, to another feline friend. I quzzed Emma-did he seem strong, did he look healthy, was he the smallest in the litter? I couldn’t bear the thought of bringing another poorly baby in to our family and risking the heartbreak that Oscar sadly brought us all. He seemed healthy, strong, ate like a horse and was the biggest in the litter. He was confident and at time a bot bossy. Sounded perfect to me! So I arranged to go and meet him. HE WAS GORGEOUS, Claude was joining our family.

We had to wait a few weeks for him to be old enough to leave Mum and in the meantime Emma started posting pics of his litter mates on the rescue page for people to register an interest n adopting them. Claude was joined by Verity (a long haired black and white beauty) Tilly (a black and white short haired cutie) and Salem (a handsome all black boy). People liked the girls and they soon got snapped up but NO ONE showed any interest in Salem. Why? I asked Emma ‘The sad truth is no one wants black cats’. Sadly I am guilty of this, I always loved Ginger cats and grey cats. I have to admit I felt instantly terribly guilty and shallow. Why did I want a ginger or grey over any other kitten, surely it was more important what kind of temprement they had? I’m not supersticious so I knew it had nothing to do with black cats being lucky or unlucky. On reflection it has to have something to do with the media. Any advert you see for cat food never shows a black cat.

 

Whiskas advertising shows a beautiful silver tabby.

 


Felix does at least show a black and white cheeky chap but no all black.

Sheba, despite depicting a black cat in their logo choose to have a silver blue cat as their star.

 

 

In fact a quick google of black cats throws up witches cats
, cats with pumpkins, black cat the Marvel character, cat woman (sexy but a baddie none the less).

Cat rescues know all too well the sad truth that people don’t want black cats or kittens, they are always the last to be rehomed.

This is true for the UK and America alike. Through no fault of their own, black cats are overlooked time and time again, as most people tend to choose ‘prettier’ coloured cats. Even black kittens are left until last for adoption, while their more colourful siblings are chosen first. The outlook for a black, adult cat in rescue is therefore very bleak. Some spend many months in rescue, sometimes even years, waiting for someone to see past their colour…

yogi  black cat sittingIs it because of Superstition?

It all depends on how we think, and even where we live! Superstitions in different cultures and countries vary as to whether black cats are considered good luck or bad. The old idea of black cats being ‘witches cats’ may still influence some people. However, in Britain, Scotland and Japan, a black cat crossing your path, or even if you dream of a black cat, is said to bring you good luck. A black cat’s presence has been credited with bringing about show-stopping performances in theatres. And, in Scotland, finding black kittens sitting in your porch is a sign of riches, and happiness to come!

Is it because of Colour?

There are a few suggestions for this, such as it’s difficult to connect with a black cat in a rescue centre, who may blend into the shadows, or because black cats don’t always show up as well in photographs on web pages (!). Also, as most rescues are so full these days, there are inevitably a wide range of colours which people are more drawn to – whilst the black cats can seem to fade into the background, and are just passed by.

Could you look BEYOND the COAT..?

Look beyond the coat, and black cats have all the charm, and charisma of their more colourful cousins. Not to mention their sleek glossy dark coats which complement their bright shining eyes. They are stunning, regal looking animals; each one an individual. Black cats are just as wonderful as any other, with exactly the same needs – love and care, in a home of their own. If you enjoy the company of cats whatever their colour, please consider adopting a black cat.

One thing is certain, those who have looked ‘beyond the coat’ and adopted a black cat, consider themselves extremely lucky indeed!

So much so there is now such a thing as National Black cat day!

When I finally got to the day I could collect Claude I arrived with my cat box very excited to introduce him to his new family. Salem (his all black brother) wouldn’t leave him alone, once Claude was in the box Salem sat on top meowing and trying to reach inside the bars.

Me: I cannot have two cats.

Emma: ‘Still no interest in Salem bless him’

Martyn would kill me

‘No one wants black cats’

Oh Jesus

‘Aww look he wants his brother’

Just put him in the box

‘Two cats is always better than one in my experience’

Just put him in the box

‘Are you sure?’

Just put him in the box

Seren turned to me and said ‘shall we just not tell Daddy that we have two cats mummy?’ Sounds good Seren; lets not, let’s just open the cat box and hope he doesn’t notice. Salem is black, maybe Daddy will think he is Claude’s shadow?! We walked through the door and Seren loudly announces ‘We only have one cat Daddy’ to which Martyn remarked ‘Well of course, what was the other option?’

**two very guilty faces open the cat box where two little kittens climb out**

Martyn just laughed and said I guess two cats are no more work than one **phew**

Salem was renamed Pipestrelle after a pipestrelle bat (my husband is an ecologist ok? We know the names of different bats-don’t judge!) We call him Pip for short and he is beautiful. I now have no idea why black cats are deemed undesirable he is elegant and gorgeous. He reminds me of a mini panther. So next time you are looking to re-home a kitten, take another look at the all black boys and girls. They are more beautiful than you think.

Leave a comment