Fly little bird

Seren is starting school in September and after months of being in denial I can now honestly say I am devastated at the idea.

Inwardly of course-only inwardly because outwardly I have to be excited and                                       encouraging but really I am sad on the inside: always on the inside.

I was the same when Rhys went to school. I love our time so much, I don’t want to give it up.

Seren said something the other night that really struck a chord in me…

Our job as a parent is not to limit and hold back our children but to simply always be there.

Seren will occasionally wake in the night for a wee-this particular night was the same as any other. I went and collected her from bed and carried her to the bathroom. On the way there in her sleepy/dreamy state she stroked my back and mumbled, delicately in to my ear. “I love you Mummy. You always come when I call.”

“I will ALWAYS be there when you call,both you and your brother, I won’t hinder or limit but I will be just a few steps behind so that I can forever be there when you call.”

This poem has been prompted by Seren going to school but it is also for Rhys because I felt exactly the same when he started school.

Little Bird

My little bird who I have watched change and grow

I have seen your personality start to show

On the horizen is upset for our status quo…

It’s time for me to let you go

So go and learn to fly little bird

Together we have grown

and I have shown

you the way

so that you will learn to fly one day

So go and learn to fly little bird

Your days will soon be filled with noise and fun

But mine will certainly quieten down some

Whilst grown-ups will fill my day

Thoughts of you will often come my way

Go and learn to fly little bird

You are my little shadow

I’ve taught you what I think you need to know

Wherever I am, you want to be with me

Wherever I turn there you will be.

I’ll miss you my little bee

Learn to fly my little bird

Though I will mourn days gone by

And at times will probably cry

Please know that you are one of my

greatest achievements and I

want so much for you to fly

So spread your wings and soar high my little bird

If you look down there you will see

me

There I will always be…

Watching you fly high my little bird

Leave a comment